Tadahiro Nakazato Lobed Tea Cup Set

Sale price$95.00
Free US Shipping

All our items ship free in the US

Dimensions: 3-1/8” h x 3-0”dia

This is a "rare" opportunity to obtain a set of five-lobed Tea Cups was created by Taroemon XIV, (Tadahiro Nakazato). Purchased from the Nakazato family kiln in Karatsu, on the Southern Island of Kyushu, these beautiful-shaped cups for “matcha” tea, each have a varied warm grey glaze finish that shows confidence in the firing, affording uniqueness of each piece, and creates an expressive individual cup. It is said that after use, each cup will gradually change its landscape from the type of tea being served.

Each bowl has a darker raised base celebrating not only the vessel, but the clay foundation which gives it an unmistakable “datsuzoku”, (surprise), look and feel to each piece. Irregularities and color changes of the glaze through the firing process are highly prized and considered one of a kind, and often celebrated in teaware. The side of the base shows the mark, (Kamajirushi), of Tadahiro Nakazato, Toroemon XIV. The Nakazato family is one of Japan's greatest treasures and is one reason for the wonderful ceramic traditions that abound here today. The original Kirkwood box has both the identification and Nakazato signature/stamp.

Condition: Excellent condition as produced by the artist. As is”, and retains the original craft/workmanship. Any discoloration, chipping/cracking, surface wear, or structural damage. 

NOTE: You may wonder why five (5) teacups are in this set. In Japan, odd numbers are considered auspicious. The number five holds tremendous significance in nearly all Buddhist traditions including the tea ceremony. The five elements of Esoteric Buddhism are combined with one additional element in Japanese culture, the MIND, for a total of six. This mudra, (ritual/spiritual gesture), symbolizes the unity of the five worldly elements with a six-element, spiritual consciousness. Only by adding the sixth element are the five brought to life. Without the sixth element, ordinary eyes see only the differentiated forms or appearances.  Each has a relationship to the tea ceremony and is incorporated into the whole experience in the use of odd-numbered items. 

  1. Earth
  2. Water
  3. Fire
  4. Air (or Wind)
  5. Space
  6. MIND (spiritual consciousness or perception)